Golden Axe II brief thoughts

This game was not as good as I wanted it to be.

As happy as I am SEGA made the game first party, it was sorta lackluster. There was so much hype given to GameFAQ and other fans comparing Batman: The Arcade Game with it, I thought I would really enjoy it. Nope.

Maybe it’s because I chose the female warrior, but the range of my weapons isn’t that good. The enemies are really fast and hard to dodge. Luckily, they give you 10 specials to use.

It’s cool that you can use the beast you can ride to do more damage, and that they allow you to get hit three times with the beast before disappearing. But the fights just aren’t that great.

I had a lot more fun playing:

  • Double Dragon, NES
  • Double Dragon II: The Revenge, NES
  • Double Dragon II: The Revenge, Genesis
  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles IV: Turtles in Time
  • Batman Returns, NES
  • Batman Forever: The Arcade Game

And there’s other fighters that weren’t as good which I’d recommend as well, like Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II for NES.

This game just doesn’t seem that polished. I prefer the Konami or Data East beat em ups.

Leave a Reply

